Invitation to Celebration fo Excellence

Everyone in the community is invited to attend the 2023 FCCPS Celebration of Excellence, which will be held Monday afternoon, May 15. This year, there are more people to celebrate than ever before!

At this event the school administrators and directors will recognize:

  • All of the nominees and winners of the three FCCPS awards (Falls Church Education Foundation Teacher of the Year, FCCPS Support Staff Employee of the Year, and FCCPS Professional Specialist of the Year)
  • FCCPS employees who are nominees and winners of awards and grants from local, regional, and national entities throughout the past year.

Here are the details:
Monday, May 15
Meridian High School Learning Stairs
4:15 p.m. Reception with appetizers and beverages catered by FCCPS Food Services
4:45 p.m. Program begins

The honorees are 

  • Peter Laub, Hillary McDuff, Adam White - Graduates of UVA SCOPE Program
  • Debbie Hiscott, Suzanne Hladky, Mary Asel (FCEF) - Falls Church Chamber of Commerce Nonprofit of the Year Award
  • Jeff Buck - VFW Post 9274 Teacher of the Year
  • Leah Partridge - IB Mid-Atlantic Educator of the Year
  • Adam White - Virginia Assistant Principal of the Year Nominee
  • Farrell Kelly - National Endowment for the Humanities Institute on Making Holocaust and Genocide Education Relevant Through Inquiry and Classroom Application
  • Jessica Hollinger - RISE Award Nominee
  • Sara Tennyson - Hope Honors Medal
  • Ghada Khalaf - Hope Honors Medal
  • Patrick Garland - Hope Honors Medal
  • Mary Jo West - Fulbright Teacher for Global Classrooms
  • Mary Jo West & Carey Pollack - World Smarts STEM Challenge
  • Ray Wu-Rorrer, Kenny George, Carey Pollack, Jason Perkins, Steve Knight, Peter Mecca - Pallets & Planters publication and presentation at ITEEA
  • Marybeth Connelly - Falls Church Chamber Pillar of the Community
  • Peter Noonan - Excellence in Educational Leadership Award UVA K-12 Advisory Council
  • Dee Dee Etheredge - Support Staff Employee of the Year (Operations)
  • Michael Gilroy - Support Staff Employee of the Year (Classroom)
  • Steve Knight - Professional Specialist of the Year 
  • Margaret Doubleday - Support Staff Employee of the Year Nominee
  • Lakisha Talbert - Support Staff Employee of the Year Nominee
  • Ashley Burgess - Professional Specialist of the Year Nominee
  • Brad McAdam -  Professional Specialist of the Year Nominee 
  • Kim Nguyen - Professional Specialist of the Year Nominee
  • Julia Noble - FCEF Teacher of the Year
  • Eric Duchaj - FCEF Teacher of the Year Nominee
  • Will Stewart - FCEF Teacher of the Year Nominee
  • Lauren Carpel - FCEF Teacher of the Year Nominee
  • Molly Greer - FCEF Teacher of the Year Nominee
  • Miriam Schimmoller - FCEF Teacher of the Year Nominee
  • Karen Bevan - FCEF Teacher of the Year Nominee
  • Laura McNamara - FCEF Teacher of the Year Nominee
  • Amanda Morey - FCEF Teacher of the Year Nominee